Yoga was born more than 5000 years ago in India. While modern Yoga is more focused on body movement, originally it was more of a spiritual exercise. Even now, the philosophy behind Yoga can still give us great tips to live everyday life by.

For example, the book Bhagavad Gita advises readers that you cannot practice Yoga if you eat too much or eat too little, or if you sleep too much or do not sleep enough.... duh! We all know that sleeping too much or too little is not good, and that eating too much or too little is bad for our health.

... But wait.

Us modern people all have busy lives and do miss meals sometimes, stay up late, occasionally eat too much, or sleep in at times. Yes, finding the balance is not easy in today's world. (It seems it was hard in India 2000 years ago as well!)

The word Yoga comes from the Sanskrit word "Yuj"which means join, bind or unite. This speaks to the purpose of Yoga which is to unite the body, mind, and soul. I believe if Yoga is practice regularly, it is a great form of exercise for the modern individual in today's busy, fast-paced world.

What is Vinyasa Yoga?

Vinyasa is all about continuous movement and breathing. Vinyasa is a style originally derived from Ashtanga Yoga. Ashtanga is a term derived from the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali - a 1600 year old highly translated Indian text - meaning eight limbs.

8 limbs of Yoga

1. YAMAS (moral restraints) – How we relate to others

2. NIYAMAS (observances) – How we relate to ourselves

3. ASANA (pose) – How we relate to our body

4. PRANAYAMA (breath) – How we relate to our breath or spirit

5. PRATYAHARA (sensory withdrawal) – How we relate to our sense organs

6. DHARANA (concentration) – How we relate to our mind

7. DHYNA (meditation) – Moving beyond the mind

8. SAMACHI (meditative absorption) – Deep realization and inner union

​When you develop 8 limbs awareness, you are more aware of the connection between your body and mind.